Posted by: Erin | June 15, 2008

Pork Tenderloin with Pomegranate Glaze

Attempted on: January 20, 2008
Source: Cooking Light [link]

These turned out okay. I decided to make them in the toaster oven, which may have contributed to the “glaze” being too liquidy, but I’m not positive. It tasted good, but I think the overall effect would have been better if it really was more of a glaze. I’m really not sure why the pomegranate juice didn’t reduce properly – maybe it needed more sugar? But overall, it was a good recipe and it worked out okay in the toaster oven, making it an easy (if not slightly long) recipe.

Addendum (June 2008): Really random thought – wondering if maybe using Rose’s pomegranate martini mix instead of regular pomegranate juice will work better. I tried to make a martini with it, and it wasn’t very good, but it may have more sugar in it than the juice. I’ll try it next time I make this one.

Responses

  1. If you have any Mediterranean/Middle Eastern stores in your neighborhood, you might want to try pomegranate molasses.

    It’s basically a thick sauce—more or less the consistency of ketchup—that’s made by slowly reducing strained pomegranate juice over low heat. It’s usually a dark brownish-red color and not very sweet (mostly tangy/sour).

    You can make it at home if you have the time & patience (google it), or you can get it from Amazon.

  2. I’m not sure if we do – I’ll have to take a look. Thanks for the tip. I didn’t know there was such a thing as pomegranate molasses. I don’t do so well with “reducing,” as evidenced by my two attempts with this recipe.

    I was looking for pomegranate jam or similar, but I couldn’t find any. Stonewall Kitchen makes a Peach Pomegranate Jam (which sounds awesome), but I haven’t been to the one place I know that carries that particular brand. I think that’s my next attempt with the pork. This recipe’s just not working, so I’m improvising.

  3. I’m not a big fan of peaches, but mixed with pomegranates in jam they might not be half bad. Thx!


Leave a Reply

Categories

