Posted by: Erin | June 17, 2008

Chicken or Tilapia Piccata

Attempted on: January 16, 2008 (chicken); January 21, 2008 (tilapia)
Source: Cooking Light [link]

I originally tried this with the orzo, but I discovered that I actually preferred plain orzo mixed with Green Giant Just for One Niblets® Corn & Butter Sauce. There’s too much butter sauce in the corn, but when it’s mixed with the orzo, it balances out better, and means I don’t have to put anything on the orzo itself.

Anyway, first important thing: do not put this in the fridge WITH the sauce. I made this with chicken first, and purposely made enough for leftovers, and I put the cut-up chicken and sauce in tupperware together. When I went to reheat it a day or two later, the sauce had sort of congealed, so definitely make the sauce new when reheating leftovers. (Oh, and if you do make the proper orzo recipe, use less lemon juice. It’s WAY lemony as the recipe is written.)

Second: the recipe is much better with tilapia than chicken, but the chicken is decent. The chicken is also okay reheated, but the tilapia isn’t quite as good.

So overall, good, fairly quick recipe. Definitely will make this again.

Responses

  1. […] I bought a piece of tilapia. I prepared it as if I were making Tilapia Piccata. At the moment, I only have a white merlot open in the fridge, and I didn’t want to open a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

