Posted by: Erin | July 27, 2008

Product Review #2: Seeds of Change pasta sauce

A few weeks ago, I decided to try a new pasta sauce. I’d tried a Wild Harvest sauce, which was pretty good, so I decided to try another organic sauce, Seeds of Change Tomato Basil Genovese.

Unfortunately, this sauce didn’t live up to my expectations. It’s watery in comparison to other sauces I’ve tried (including the Wild Harvest). It does have big chunks of tomato, which isn’t really my thing, but I know lots of people love that. There’s just nothing special about this sauce, really. I picked the blandest flavor, as I usually do. (I’m a purist who likes basil and garlic, sue me.) But I’d expect a sauce that has “basil” in the product name to at least have a strong aroma of basil, which this one does not.

When I tried the sauce for a second time last night, I thought I’d add to it to make it a bit more palatable. I added dried basil (my basil plants aren’t big enough to harvest from yet) and garlic powder. Sadly, this did nothing to the sauce, for better or for worse.

Overall: Not a sauce I’ll be buying again (which is probably better, because it goes for about $6.50 a jar here). However, if you prefer organic foods, and like both a thinner sauce and big tomato chunks, you might want to check this out. It’s not bad, it’s just not to my particular taste/preferences in a pasta sauce.

Responses

  1. I prefer to make my own. Can of crushed tomatoes (or diced), some garlic, olive oil – fry up the garlic in olive oil and take it out, then add tomatoes, salt and pepper, cook for about 5 minutes and add a bunch of fresh basil julienned. Instant, and amazingly good, pasta sauce.

    An ex of mine also made an amazing meat sauce – 1 package of sweet Italian Sausage, 1 package of hot Italian Sausage, 2 packages of thin pork chops and about 6 large cans of crushed tomatoes with basil. Simmer it all for 3-5 hours in a big stock pot. Not a thick sauce, but such a flavor.

  2. That sounds good! Do you just throw the stuff together and see what happens, tasting along the way, or do you have an actual recipe you use? Occasionally, I’ll add stuff to a pre-made sauce, but I’ve never made sauce entirely from scratch before.


Leave a Reply

Categories

