Posted by: Erin | July 28, 2008

Pan-Seared Pork Chops with Dried Fruit

Do you ever have one of those days where you just feel awesome? Well, I had one of those today. Not that my whole day was excellent, but I managed to get home early enough to attempt cooking an actual dinner. So that was a good start. I stopped by the supermarket to pick up some pork (they didn’t have any yesterday when I went grocery shopping), and I got two very nice pieces. My plan was to make Pan-Seared Pork Chops with Dried Fruit, a Cooking Light recipe I first tried back on March.

Pan-Seared Pork Chops with Dried Fruit

The recipe calls for dried fruit, but doesn’t specify what kind. There was a surprising lack of dried fruit options at my grocery store (it was mainly raisins). I went with the Lilo and Stitch tropical fruit mix: dried apricots, pineapple, and papaya. I have a few recipes for apricot pork dishes, so I figured this mix would taste good with the pork. I tried a piece of the pineapple before I made the recipe, and I was a little concerned it would be too sweet, but the mix is mainly apricot, which cuts the sweetness of the pineapple very well. (I also saw an apple, cherry, and cranberry mix, which might be worth a try sometime – I imagine the cranberry would go with the pork as well.)

When I made this the first time, I paired it with Near East Long Grain & Wild Rice (Garlic and Herb). This time, I made the same rice, and also threw in some corn (as an attempt in having a balanced meal). I discovered Birds Eye Steamfresh Singles a while back, and they make me happy. (I’m a Jersey girl, so obviously, I far prefer fresh Jersey corn when I can get it. But it’s nice to be able to get individual packages so I’m not wasting food, and these come out a little bit crisper than the generic bags of frozen corn, I find.)

I’m really psyched that this turned out so well a second time. I managed to not burn the pork chops (I have a tendency to overcook meat due to a slight paranoia about undercooking it and making myself ill). They were cooked properly and still managed to be a bit juicy. Score. The other excellent thing was that it only took about 40 minutes to make the rice and the pork (the rice needs to simmer for about 30 minutes, or this would probably only take about 20 minutes max), so this is a great, easy meal that works for a weeknight dinner.

Leave a Reply

Categories

