Posted by: Erin | August 10, 2008

Citrus-Drizzled Cranberry-Oatmeal Cookies

Attempted on: February 2, 2008
Source: Cooking Light [link]

These cookies came out great, with or without the glaze. (I’ve made them a few times since the original trial.) The glaze is a bit sweet, but the oatmeal balances it nicely. I don’t have a grater, I discovered, in the course of making these. I used my carrot peeler to try and grate a little orange rind for the glaze. It wasn’t the best solution ever, but it worked reasonably well. (Next time, though, I’ll make sure I’ve acquired a grater before making the glaze.) I also tried microwaving the glaze so I could pour it over the cookies from the measuring cup, instead of using the baggie method in the recipe – this worked out well.

The second time I tried these cookies, I split the dough and added 1/2 cup of semisweet chocolate chips to one half, leaving out the glaze, which were great. I put 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips into the other half of the dough, which were also good, but I far preferred the semisweet chocolate. Might try it with milk chocolate chips next time.

Responses

  1. Holy shit! I feel like such a moron! How did I ever miss that you do this blog? This is great! Especially since I totally struggle with making food and stuff now that I’m a single dad. Love this. I gotta try that dried fruit pork dish!!

    I’m totally bookmarking you, Erin! šŸ™‚

    Thanks to your Twitter earlier (was it today or yesterday?) about the oatmeal cookies! My son loves to bake, so I’m going to check it out and see if he wants to try the recipe.

  2. LOL – see what happens when you disappear off the face of the Internet for a month or so? šŸ˜› I only started this blog about two months ago – I figured it would keep me more accountable for trying new recipes, which I’ve been trying really hard to do.

    The oatmeal cookies are really good, despite their lack of chocolate. But like I said, you can kind of screw around with what’s in them. My one hint would be to not get too overzealous with the lemon juice in the glaze – I might even use a little less than the recipe calls for. It comes off a bit sour, despite being mainly sugar.

    The dried fruit and pork dish is great and super easy. (In fact, it was tonight’s dinner, but with some plain jasmine rice instead of the wild rice.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

