Posted by: Erin | August 25, 2008

Garlic Olive Chicken Pizza Experiment

In trying to decide what to make for dinner tonight, I checked out two recipes from Sorrento’s website for pizza. Originally, I was going to try the White Garlic and Mozzarella Pizza recipe, but then was waffling between that and the White Pizza. I thought about combining them, but instead, ended up going a different direction.

I bought a package of Boboli mini pizza crusts and threw together a topping. I had a bit of leftover sauce (Bertolli Olive Oil and Garlic) which I mixed up with some minced garlic, dried basil (my basil plants aren’t big enough to pick from yet), minced fresh rosemary (from the garden), sliced black olives, and a sliced up Perdue chicken cutlet (which I cooked in the toaster oven first). Once all that was mixed up, I spread it on the pizza crust, and covered it with sliced fresh mozzarella cheese. Put it in the oven at 450° for about 14 minutes, and *poof!* – dinner.

Garlic Olive Chicken Pizza

Garlic Olive Chicken Pizza

The pizza came out really well, though I couldn’t really taste the rosemary (though I could smell it). I might throw more garlic in next time (have I mentioned I love garlic?). The two things I always find frustrating when using fresh mozzarella, though, are that it’s hard to slice and that it never really melts quite as well as other cheese do. (It gets very hard to cut through properly when the pizza is warm, too.) On the whole, it worked out well, and it’s a quick meal, which makes it a good weeknight meal.

Responses

  1. […] Leaf Salad, shredded carrots, some sliced black olives and fresh mozzarella (leftover from the pizza experiment on Monday night), and a few of the Perdue cutlets (also from the pizza). I threw all of that […]

  2. […] segments, fresh mozzarella, and strips of marinated beef. I had some fresh mozzarella left from the pizza experiments (will post about the second one soon), and I originally intended to make a recipe from the Sorrento […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

