Posted by: Erin | September 18, 2008

Kid-Friendly Instant Apple Crisp

This week has been crazy terrible at work, so I’ve been a bit behind in my blogging. I’ve got some new food and wine reviews coming, along with gardening updates and new recipe attempts. For now, I’ll share a super-simple alterna-breakfast I tried the other day.

I started following Whole Foods on Twitter and I clicked through to the Whole Foods website for something (can’t remember what exactly), and I discovered RECIPES! I jokingly refer to myself as a Recipe Whore™, but it’s kinda true. I get very excited when I find lots of new recipes, especially when they’re healthy and easy. I’m also a fan of apple crisp – reminds me of fall and college and generally makes me happy. So when I found a recipe for “kid-friendly” apple crisp, I thought “Great! Something easy!” because, well, I’m lazy like that sometimes.

The description on the recipe says “Make this easy, no-cook recipe with kids for breakfast, dessert or just an afternoon snack.” I’ve been in something of a rut, breakfast-wise, so the idea of an apple crisp-like thing for breakfast sounded interesting. Applesauce I had, but no granola, so when I went to the store, I picked up a small, two-serving package of Bear Naked Peak Protein granola. I thought the cranberries would mix nicely with the applesauce. (On a side note, you’d be amazed at how hard it is to find just plain granola in the supermarket. I was going for the plainest thing possible, because I didn’t want to ruin the recipe by picking a flavor of granola I didn’t like or that didn’t go well with the applesauce.)

Anyway, I tried this on Monday morning. Overall, not a bad recipe. Not quite the apple crisp taste I was anticipating, but it was decent. Still iffy on whether I’ll work that into my breakfast rotation, but it’s a good snack, even if it’s not my breakfast preference. I did make a few alterations to the recipe: I put one cup of applesauce with 1/4 cup of granola, since I like applesauce a lot more than I like granola, and it didn’t feel properly balanced to me with only 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also opted for cinnamon-sugar rather than just ground cinnamon, because the applesauce felt too… not “tart” exactly… Just like it was missing something (namely sugar, I think).

I’m not entirely sure how I feel about granola as a concept, but I’m thinking of trying something totally crazy, like mixing it with yogurt, next. 🙂

Responses

  1. […] will post when I do), and I used some “all natural” Bear Naked granola when I made the kiddie apple crisp the other day. Today, I came across this 11-brand taste-test of organic breakfast […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

