Posted by: Erin | October 6, 2008

Product Review #4: Dark Chocolate Almond Granola and Garlic Naan

Quick post to share some product reviews:

Cascadian Farm granola boxes

Cascadian Farm granola boxes

Cascadian Farm Organic Granola with Dark Chocolate and Almonds: I got a sample of this new flavor when I was at the Boston Ähts Festival in Christopher Columbus Park a few weeks ago. I’m generally not big on granola, but I am of the opinion that approximately 90% of foods can also be improved by either chocolate or garlic (though not both, so far as I can tell), so I gave it a shot. It’s not bad. It’s not great, but it’s not bad. I haven’t had cold cereal for breakfast in a long time, so it may have just been a shock to my routine. It’s a touch too sweet for my taste – not on the level of sweetened kids cereal (which I’ve never been much of a fan of), but sweet nonetheless. I’d probably eat it again, but I don’t think it’ll get a regular spot in the breakfast rotation. (I bought a box of the other new flavor – fruit and nut granola – this weekend, but haven’t tried it yet. It has cherries, cranberries, and raisins in it. I’m thinking it might be a little less sweet, with the cherries and cranberries to balance it out. More on that when I actually try it.)

International Fabulous Flatbreads Garlic Tandoori Naan: I bought this on a whim at the grocery store a few weeks back, because I thought it was on sale. (Dear Shaw’s: Don’t put something in your flyers if it’s not on sale. Putting it in with the usual price is sneaky and I find it irritating.) I’ve been looking for a recipe for naan since I was introduced to the fantasticness that is peshawari naan. None seem to be easy to make, though, so I was excited to find a packaged brand in the supermarket. Like I said, I’m a big fan of garlic, so I thought I’d test out the garlic one. This was another product that was okay, but fell flat (no pun intended). It wasn’t as garlicky as I would have liked, and I noticed, when opening the package, that it also has cilantro in it, which I’m not much a fan of. The cilantro taste isn’t overwhelming, but it’s there. The bread itself tasted flour-y, almost paste-y, for lack of a better word. It’s possible that’s because I’ve had the stuff for a week or so (in an unopened package, though), but I’m not convinced that’s not just how it tastes. I don’t think I’ll be buying the garlic naan again, but I’m thinking about trying the plain version. I’m wondering if there’s a way to make a sort of coconut filling for the plain version that would approximate peshawari naan. Another experiment for another day. 🙂

Addendum (10/7): I tried the Cascadian Farm fruit and nut granola this morning. It was the opposite of what I expected – nowhere near as sweet as the dark chocolate flavor. I liked it a little better, but wish the balance of dried fruit and granola was a bit more even. I felt like the granola far outweighed the fruit, but to be far, it’s possible the fruit settled, since this was the first bowl out of the box. I’ll finish the box, though I might end up using it for an apple crisp or some such baking adventure rather than breakfast – not sure yet (though I do think the dried fruit in the granola would be a nice addition to a standard apple crisp recipe).

Leave a Reply

Categories

