Posted by: Erin | October 25, 2008

Wine Tasting: Columbia Winery 2006 Cellarmaster’s Riesling

Columbia Winery Riesling

Columbia Winery Riesling

I bought this wine on a whim at the Martignetti’s in the North End shortly before it closed (RIP), it sat on my wine rack for a while. I don’t really know how to pick out wines, since I know my expectations don’t exactly match up with descriptions (ie, what I consider “sweet” isn’t exactly what wine geeks mean by a “sweet” wine). The description of this one sounded good from the description on the back of the label, so I figured I’d take a chance on it.

It’s a little acidic, which gives it a tiny bit of bite (or it’s gone bad from sitting on the wine rack, but I’m going to presume not). It has a sweet undertone to it, also. I liked it, but think I might have liked it better with a different type of food (had it with pasta, tomato sauce, and chicken) or perhaps just by itself. Definitely worth a try, and I’d buy it again, if I can find it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

