Posted by: Erin | October 28, 2008

Seafood Cooked By Someone Else Is Awesome

I had some family in town a few months ago, and we all know what that means: no cooking! Aside from some good Portuguese food, we also had the requisite visit to Legal Sea Foods. I was unpleasantly surprised to learn that my favorite crabmeat and lobster ravioli was no longer on the menu. I don’t know if it’s a permanent change or seasonal, but it’s the first time it’s been off the menu ever, and I’ve been going there for years. Seriously – I am crushed by this. I love this dish, and I don’t know how to make it myself. (Suggestions would be welcome, as always.) But anyway…

Instead, I had grilled wild salmon with a lemon chive butter sauce, mashed potatoes, and an apple martini. It was awesome. (Legal makes great apple martinis. The food was good, too, of course.) I like salmon, but I have a tendency to overcook it for fear of undercooking it, so it’s nice to have it cooked by someone who knows what they’re doing. I’m guessing the sauce is a pretty simple one, so I wanted to try making it at home. I did, but more on that in another post.

We also went to McCormick and Schmick’s one night. I started with an arugula salad with oranges, dried cranberries, and an orange-basil vinaigrette. I’m generally not big on salad dressing – I’ll occasionally spritz a little vinaigrette over a green salad, but for the most part, I tend to use cheese to add a sharp flavor and contrast to the salad instead. The salad was a little over-dressinged, but on the whole, it was a good salad. I’d like to figure out how to emulate the dressing, because this is one I’d like to start adding to my salad rotation. (I think I might be able to use the dressing from this Sorrento Cheese salad recipe, either as-is or trying to alter it to add basil to the mix.)

For dinner, I had fresh Ecuadorian red tilapia crusted with cashews and a rice pilaf, with a glass of Beringer white zinfandel. (The meal was good, but not as exciting as Legal’s salmon. I like tilapia but I usually just make piccata, so I’m always happy to find another way to cook it. If I can find a similar recipe, I’ll have to try it out.) As far as the wine goes, the Beringer was good, though I still prefer the Sutter Home white zin. But I’ll certainly keep an eye out for the Beringer next time I’m looking. (I just went to their website to link to it, and I have discovered they also make a white merlot and a riesling. Excellent!)

All in all, it was a good visit, with a lot of good food. It definitely gave me some ideas for some new kitchen experiments.

Responses

  1. Erin,

    Thanks for enjoying our Sutter Home White Zin (we actually created it in 1972). We also make a White Merlot and White Cabernet.

    Beringer’s WZ is also very good, but different style. Bottom-line…drink what you like.

    All the best,
    Barry Wiss
    Communications and Trade Relations
    Sutter Home Winery

  2. Hi Barry,

    I’ve actually had the Sutter Home white merlot. I prefer the white zin, but the white merlot is very good as well. I’ve never tried the white cabernet – I’ll have to add it to the list. 🙂

    I also saw that you guys make a moscato, which I’m excited about, but I can’t seem to find it in an actual store. Any idea where I might be able to find it in the Boston area?


Leave a Reply

Categories

