Posted by: Erin | December 10, 2008

Freebie Awesomeness!

Hey kids. We’re going to try something that’s never been done here on my lovely blog: a contest!

I’ve been a BzzAgent for the past year or so. I’ve participated in a number of campaigns, from new books to gum. (The book was a good read, and the gum is now my new favorite.) My current campaign is for Fruits & Passion, a Canadian bath and body boutique expanding into the U.S. market. Along with my full-size sample of Cucina coriander and olive oil hand soap (which I admit, I have not tried yet, but will be getting to soon – just need to finish the soap already in my kitchen), I received some gift cards, printed on a really excellent paper. (I’m a designer, I like quality printing – sue me.)

I’m still deciding what to use my gift card on, but my indecision should not keep the rest of you from sharing in some freebie awesomeness. I have two $10 gift cards, which expire on December 24th. They can be used at any Fruits & Passion boutique (unfortunately, they can’t be redeemed online, for reasons I do not understand).

Now, what do you need to do in order to win one of these lovely cards? Well, I’ll tell you. Comment here with your favorite quick, easy, nutritious weeknight meal by 9pm EST on Sunday, December 14th. I’ll pick my two favorites, and each of you will receive one of the $10 coupons. My apologies for the short timeframe, but it’s just so I have enough time to mail the cards out to the winners in time for you to actually use them.

So what’s the catch you ask? Of course there is one, but it’s small, I promise. All you have to do is comment on the winners thread (which will be posted on Sunday night) after you’ve used the gift card, telling me which store you went to, what you bought, and what you think of the whole experience. I’ll report that information back to BzzAgent in my BzzReports, and that info will go directly back to the people at Fruits & Passion.

See? It’s only a small catch! Totally worth a $10 gift card, right? So get to sharing those recipes, people!

Responses

  1. Now this is a great idea! And the stores are pretty awesome.

    So, here’s my contribution…its a fav that I grew up with.

    Macaroni Pie Recipe

    16 ounces elbow macaroni
    16 ounces Cheddar cheese, grated (about 4 cups)
    2 cups milk, evaporated milk or half & half
    3 eggs
    salt and pepper to taste

    Pepper Sauce (optional)

    Grease a 2 quart baking dish.

    Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

    Bring a large pot of water to a rolling boil. Add a bit of salt to the water and pour in the macaroni. Cook the macaroni according to the manufacturer’s instructions, for about 10 minutes, or until al dente. (The macaroni will continue to cook in the oven.)

    Drain the macaroni well in a colander, and then pour it into a large bowl. Add the grated cheddar cheese to the pasta and stir to combine the two thoroughly.

    Break the eggs into a medium sized bowl and whisk them lightly. Add the milk to the eggs and whisk them together Pour the milk and egg mixture over the macaroni, add salt and pepper to taste and stir to combine all of the ingredients well.

    Pour the macaroni mixture into the greased baking dish and bake it in a preheated oven for about an hour, or until a knife inserted into the middle comes out clean. Allow the macaroni pie to rest for 15 minutes. Cut into squares and serve.

    Note: If the top seems to be browning too fast or too much while it is baking, you can cover the baking dish loosely with some foil.

    There you have it. Lemme know what you think.

    Cheers!

  2. Glad you like the idea! I thought I’d try something new with this BzzCampaign. And, I’ll admit it: I’m recipe-hunting. 🙂

    I probably should have added that I’ll be deciding based on the recipe as it’s posted, since I won’t have time to try all of them before awarding the gift cards.

  3. “And, I’ll admit it: I’m recipe-hunting. …”

    Ahhh…so the true nature of your so-called contest reveals itself. hehe

    well…if someone had taken part in a little recipe exchange, they would have had ALL KINDS of cool personal recipes. 😉

    I tease.

  4. Hey, it’s not like I’m rewarding the sharing!

    And I DID participate, but no one else wrote back! Have you seen the HOWie cookbook, speaking of recipe collections?

  5. […] Since y’all didn’t feel like playing along, my buddy Derek is the winner of the first Freebie Awesomeness contest by default, and will be receiving a $10 gift card to Fruits & Passion. And, because he was the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

