Posted by: Erin | March 17, 2009

An Experiment With Sweet Potatoes

Maybe I should have been more specific when I said I’m still alive. Because alive people actually post on their blogs from time to time. Work has been crazy busy, so not much time for cooking, and it’s still too cold to start gardening, so there’s not much news on that front. I do have a backlog of cooking experiments to talk about, and I’m hoping to have time to plan out my garden for this year over the weekend, so new stuff soon, I hope.

On a short, cooking-related note, I tried a new recipe last night, sort of. One of my favorite things is applesauce, and it was on sale a week or so ago, so I have a good deal of it. I decided to grill a pork chop on my handy little Foreman Grill and have that with applesauce and some form of sweet potato (which were also on sale recently). I opted for what looked like a very easy oven-fried sweet potato recipe from Cooking Light. (I just did a recipe search for sweet potatoes and found this one – I’ve never cooked with them before, so I wasn’t sure what to do with them, since they taste different than my usual red potatoes.)

I ended up skipping the final garnishing step (because I didn’t have an orange from which to take the rind, and I didn’t feel like melting some of the now-frozen parsley that I’d chopped up and put in ice cube trays awhile back). Instead, I chopped up two cloves of garlic and tossed it with the potatoes in the olive oil, salt and pepper. This seemed to work out okay. I made one small mistake, which was that I think I might have sliced the sweet potato too thinly (or let it bake too long, as the flipping time coincided with the first few minutes of a new Gossip Girl episode). Fortunately, I didn’t burn too many pieces. On the whole, I probably ended up with about 3/4 of the potato slices being edible, which isn’t bad for a first attempt.

I didn’t take pictures because, honestly, they weren’t that exciting-looking, but they did go nicely with the pork and applesauce. So gold star for me, and another one for the Quick Weeknight Dinner files.

Leave a Reply

Categories

