Posted by: Erin | April 2, 2009

I AM NOT HALLUCINATING GREEN THINGS!

lily_revival

So last year, I had this day lily (this one, in fact: http://tinyurl.com/cpd89u). It was happy and blooming. I repotted it. When the flowers died, it just sorta stopped doing anything, despite there being one bud left. I’m not sure what happened to that bud – it looked like it dried up, and eventually cracked open, and it’s entirely possible there was something living in there, but I’m trying not to think about it. (And on that note, I’m really hoping the black specks on the dried out leaves in the photo above are not bugs or bug eggs, etc.)

I didn’t bring the pot in because I thought the plant might be diseased. Then one day, I came home to work being done on my roof, and the planter was moved such that I could not reach it. So it stayed outside, and then it got cold. Then it snowed. Then it snowed again. It has finally stopped snowing and everything has melted.

I looked out the window the other day, and to my great astonishment, I saw something green! I thought I was hallucinating. But I went out today, in the daylight, and checked, and there are GREEN THINGS GROWING. I’m going to continue my plan of totally ignoring this one and see what happens.

Responses

  1. Daylilies don’t do much except sit there, once they are finished blooming. Kind of annoying, but it’s what they do.

  2. Hey, as long as they keep coming back, I’ll take it. 🙂 I thought this one was long dead, but no. It’s gotten huge – I posted a pic over on MyFolia, but I’ll have to add a new one this weekend.

  3. Amazing how well nature seems to get along without us, isn’t it? It’s enough to make a person feel downright expendable. LOL

    • I’m not worried – the rest of my plants need me. 🙂 (Hell, two of the new ones need life support!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

