Posted by: Erin | April 24, 2009

New Plants!

OMG, there are PLANTS in my apartment!

I have family visiting this week, and they were kind enough to take me out to Mahoney’s in Brighton to get some plants on Wednesday, and then to another garden place yesterday. Pictures soon (probably after I repot them this weekend, which is supposed to be amazingly beautiful).

Currently, I have:

  • 2 Gerbera daisies (one pink, one salmon-y one)
  • 2 stock (one deep purple, one multi-colored one with white, light pink, and magenta)
  • 1 bright yellow dahlia
  • 1 purple and cream variegated viola
  • 1 bright orange daisy
  • 1 dwarf sunflower
  • 1 monstrously-too-large-for-its-pot purple daisy-like thing, which I will try to identify later
  • 1 dracena (for indoors)

I also have a small windowbox and some brackets to hang it with, which I am quite excited about. I think I’m going to use it for herbs so they’ll get full sun and be easier to harvest. (It was super hard to resist the plethora of herbs at the place yesterday, but I’m trying to keep my herbs organic so I know they don’t have any pesticides or whatever doing on. My herbs weren’t organic last year, and clearly, they didn’t kill me, but if I can manage all organic, I will.)

I also have a lot of potting soil, and some new seeds. I decided on Heavenly Blue morning glories, instead of the multi-colored Tall Mix I’d been leaning towards. I also found Boxwood Basil seeds. I’d been considering buying plants of that from Burpee, but I think it’s because I thought that was my only option. I’d been looking for Sweet Pea Streamer Mix, which I thought was Burpee-specific, but apparently not, as Target had it under the Sean Conway brand, but not Burpee. I also, on a whim, picked up a packet of organic garlic chive seeds (also Sean Conway).

So in short, I’ve got a busy weekend of repotting and seed planting coming up. Hooray!

Responses

  1. I can’t wait to see the photos!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

