Posted by: Erin | May 20, 2009

The Thyme Has Gone To A Better Place…

And that better place is back to the Whole Foods from whence it came. The nice girl at the customer service desk took it back, no questions, which I greatly appreciated. I traded it in for more Coast of Maine organic potting soil and some fabulous strawberries. (Tuesday night’s “salad” was really just a thinly veiled attempt to make a meal out of strawberries. NOM. More on that later.)

I also managed to get to the first day of the Copley farmers market Tuesday night, which made me very happy. (Granted, I got there as they were loading up the trucks, but they were still there, so it counts!) The excellent people from Gilson’s Herb Lyceum helped me pick out a lovely silver thyme and a variegated sage. I also brought home a creeping rosemary, all three for $10. (Awesomely, I found $10 in the washing machine when I did laundry this weekend, and I’m about 95% sure it wasn’t mine originally, so I’m considering it the universe covering my herbs as an apology for my current plant woes. We’re not even yet, but I appreciate the gesture.)

After I plant the Boxwood and large-leaf Italian basil seeds, and the common and garlic chives, the last missing piece of my attempted herb garden for this year is oregano. (Well, I’d like lavender, too, but the two plants I’ve had before were not happy campers – one hated being inside, and the other just gave up when winter hit.) I’ve read that it’s kinda hard to get an accurate flavor from seeds, so I think I’d rather have a plant. I had a nice big one last year that got both sick and chomped half to death by a Very Hungry Caterpillar, though, so I’m a little nervous about trying it again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

