Posted by: Erin | May 29, 2009

Ooh, look, a food post!

I know it’s been a while since I posted about anything even resembling cooking, as I’ve been preoccupied with my garden (and my suicidal plants). I went back to Whole Foods last week to return the dead thyme, and noticed that the strawberries looked far superior to those at my local supermarket, so I gave in and brought some home with me. Blackberries have been on sale lately, too, which makes me quite happy – I love summers because I can have fruit salad pretty much all the time. So I decided to make a salad with fruit (not to be confused with fruit salad):

sb_bb_salad

This salad is super simple, just mixed greens with sliced strawberries, goat cheese crumbles, chopped pecans, and fresh blackberries. I probably could have used more greens and gone easier on the strawberries, but as these were my first strawberries of the season, I didn’t really feel the need to restrain myself. (This salad was totally a thinly veiled way to have strawberries for dinner.) So even though the proportions of ingredients were technically “off”, it was still excellent. Highly recommended, and I’ll certainly make it again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

