Posted by: Erin | July 2, 2009

In Which I Decree That Blueberries And Blackberries Are Interchangeable

Due to an awful migraine on Sunday, I didn’t get a lot done. One of the things I didn’t get done was grocery shopping, which means I had no breakfast food for Monday. This is not a good way to start the week. What I did have, however, was some fruit (kiwis, peaches, raspberries, and strawberries), so I decided to make scones to go with it.

However, after a long search, I realized that I didn’t have cornmeal or at least one ingredient in the recipes I was finding. (To my shock and disappointment, Small-Batch Baking did not have a general scone recipe, which I consider a total Cookbook FAIL.) I was exhausted and it was raining, so I was not about to go schlepping to the store for some odd missing ingredient. I’d really wanted to make simple scones, because I wanted to try the berry whipped butter recipe from SBB with raspberries, which were on sale last week, so I had a bunch in the fridge. I almost decided to make Cooking Light’s classic scones, leaving out the currants so they’d be plain, but then I remembered the kneading and such for the dough, and decided I was not in the mood for all that, so I started looking for muffin recipes instead.

I found this recipe for Lemon-Blueberry Muffins. It looked pretty simple and I had all the ingredients. (Well, I had to fake the buttermilk by adding lemon juice to room temperature 1% milk, but I did have that stuff in the fridge.) Despite being from New Jersey, I am not a huge blueberry fan. I don’t mind them in muffins, but I wasn’t in the mood, and I didn’t have them anyway. What I did have, though, were frozen blackberries. After an experiment replacing blueberries with blackberries in a lavender-blueberry jam recipe at Thanksgiving, I seem to have determined that blackberries and blueberries are interchangeable, so I went with that. I’ve also seen a number of lemon-and-blackberry recipes, as well as lemon-and-blueberry recipes, so you can see my reasoning.

I halved the recipe to make six muffins. I noticed, while stirring the batter, that blackberries are sorta fragile. I imagine blueberries do not present this problem, as they are more solid. The fact that my blackberries were a little mushy from defrosting didn’t help, but I’m guessing that blueberries don’t make blue batter, but blackberries make purple batter!

blackberry_muffin_batter

They definitely smelled good in the oven, so I figured that was promising. I was also sort of hoping the muffins would stay purple because, well, it would entertain me. Alas, they did not.

blackberry_muffins

Once the muffins cooled, I made the lemon glaze. I decided I was only going to glaze half of them, just in case I didn’t like the combination. Since I was planning to eat these in the morning with a fairly sweet fruit mix, I thought the lemon glaze might not mesh well. Turns out I was right.

There’s no way the proportions in the recipe could be right for the glaze. I did halve it, but I’m pretty sure I can do simple math here. At first, there wasn’t enough liquid to mix with the powdered sugar, so I added some more. This did not help. The mixture became too lemony, so I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of water to even it out. This did not help either. Now it was too watery. I ended up putting it on one muffin, just to see what would happen. (I discovered later that it didn’t add much to the taste either way.)

glazed_blackberry_muffin

On the whole, the muffins were okay. They’re a little dense, and it has a taste of baking powder and nutmeg (both of which are in the recipe, so it’s not like that’s crazy), and I’m not sure I love that. I have also discovered that if you put whole blackberries in muffins, you will have muffins with seeds. Not a problem, but something I hadn’t counted on.

For some reason, I feel like these might taste good with vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt, with or without the glaze. I may try this – I shall report back if I do.

Responses

  1. This muffin looks amazing. i have a tradition in making my wife muffins every sunday morning. This looks great! my wifes favorite is this double chocolate muffin. here is the recipe http://www.dvo.com/recipes_archive/double_chocolate_muffins.html

  2. Thanks! Those chocolate muffins look great, too! (Love the idea of adding raspberry jam – raspberry + chocolate = WIN.)

    Your wife must LOVE you – fresh muffins every Sunday? Nice! 🙂

  3. great, those muffins look yummy.. i should try and taste it

  4. They came out pretty well, but I’d eat them quick. I had one this morning, and it tasted a little off. (I made them on Sunday.)

  5. great, those muffins look yummy.. i should try and taste it

  6. Hmm. Is it true? 🙂

  7. […] Blog Is Awash In Spammy Love Okay, I know my post about blackberry muffins was super-exciting and all, but I don’t understand why it’s getting so many spam […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

