Posted by: Erin | July 27, 2009

I Am Defecting To Whole Foods

Most people know that I would exist almost entirely on fruit salad if it were possible. So when summer rolls around, despite the ridiculous heat and humidity, I get excited. Strawberries, blackberries, peaches, nectarines, kiwi, oranges, grapefruits, bananas, cherries, I love it all. So when I went to Whole Foods two weeks ago, I went a little nuts. I came home with a lot of produce, resulting in this:

salad_with_fruit_07-08-09

Apologies for the less-than-optimal picture – it didn’t occur to me to take a picture when I made the salad the night before, so this is courtesy of my cell phone. Basically, this salad was an excuse to eat lots of fruit: peaches, raspberries, strawberries, and blackberries on mixed salad greens with pecans and goat cheese. Lunches for the rest of the week continued on this way, the contents changing slightly as I ran out of items. I also had a beautiful 2.5 lb bag of Northwest cherries. I cannot tell you how gorgeous these things were, both in color and taste, but I was a very happy camper indeed.

The following week, when I went to Shaw’s to pick up some produce, I was quite excited. I can’t remember if I was going to make the same salad or if I was just looking for fruit for my breakfast, but either way, I wanted fruit. So you can imagine how angry I was when I got home and started cutting up peaches and nectarines to find they’d gone bad. On the outside, they looked just fine, but more than half of one nectarine was past it’s prime, an entire peach was bad, and another nectarine had bad spots. I don’t know how the outside looked okay, but they weren’t. This is on top of a totally disappointing strawberry season (I have yet to see a decent box at Shaw’s, despite Whole Foods getting the same type, and theirs have looked great most of the time). It’s been bad enough that I’ve been going out of my way to try to stop at Whole Foods when I need salad greens (Whole Foods carries Olivia’s Organics, which are more often than not, far superior to Shaw’s organic brand, Wild Harvest) and such. So if you’ve seen me lately and I’ve been cranky, I apologize – I’m having fruit withdrawal.

Leave a Reply

Categories

