Posted by: Erin | July 30, 2009

Quick Gardening Update

zinnia_macro
I did a big plant cleanup about a month or so ago, which felt good, despite being a little depressing. I tried one last round of seeds, just for the hell of it, but I didn’t think anything was going to come of it. I was wrong, otherwise known as pleasantly surprised. 🙂

garden_progress_07-28-09

On June 29th, I planted some more large leaf Italian basil, two types of zinnia seeds, some moonflower, and a few dwarf sunflower seeds (a gift from my friend’s step-mom). I wasn’t tracking things well, so I’m not exactly sure when things started sprouting, but sprout they did, and *poof*, I have plants! Not up to my usual standards, but a definite improvement.

basil_leaves

I was getting concerned about the basil, since this was my FOURTH basil planting (using two different types – organic large leaf Italian and Boxwood). All of them sprouted, got two leaves, and then did nothing, which is what this latest planting did. But because I’ve been so busy, I ended up ignoring it for a while, and lo and behold, it’s growing second and third leaves, ones that actually look like basil. So perhaps these will grow into something I can use in the kitchen. I usually have a ton of basil, and it’s easy to grow, so my failures have been a bit surprising and disappointing, which makes me appreciative of my foresight last fall in making tons of basil and freezing it. (I’ve still got a few cubes of pumpkin seed pesto left, as well as a sage-walnut mix that I keep meaning to try on chicken or fish.) I don’t remember basil ever taking so long, but it’s also possible that I used to just plant the seeds and put it outside, made sure it was watered, and that was it – maybe I’m just more aware of my plant failures instead this year. Who knows.

moonflower_vines

The moonflower is happy, and was trying to cement its hold on the porch railings, but I’ve moved it back to the little trellis.

sunflower_trio

The dwarf sunflower are doing great – I figured if they grew, I’d repot them, and since three of the four seeds are quite happy, repot them I did.

sunflowers_repotted

They look a little limp now, but it’s been super hot and humid out, so I’m hoping after a few more days of careful watering, it’ll be okay. The zinnias, now that they’ve gotten past the initial sprouting stage, are doing just fine, which is par for the course with zinnias. I usually grow Burpee’s Big Tetra Mix, but I also had a packet of Ferry Morse seeds from last year, so I decided to try an experiment and see how they compared. The Big Tetra Mix is bigger, but they’re both thriving, so I’m pleased. And the daylily, mutant plant that it is, has been blooming away, happy as a clam. I feel like I should repot it, but I don’t have anything bigger to put it in right now, so it’s got to stay where it is. I’m not sure when the best time to repot it would be anyway – maybe when it’s dormant (ie, died off for the winter)?

new_garden_layout_07-28-09

So the gardening gods do not entirely hate me. Yay. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

