Posted by: Erin | August 26, 2009

Shallot Herb Omelet

Due to an abundance of chopped shallot leftover from the Blackberry-Sage Pork experiment on Friday, I got a little creative with breakfast over the weekend. I usually don’t add anything to my eggs aside from cheese, or on rare occasion, bacon, but I decided to see what the shallots would do. I threw in some dried thyme, garlic powder, pepper, and frozen basil, too. (Though it occurs to me that I had two perfectly nice basil plants I could have used. I think my brain already earmarked them for pesto, so that’s why I didn’t think of using them.)

omelet_seasonings

Once the eggs were cooked, I placed about a tablespoon or so of goat cheese crumbles in the center, ground some sea salt over it, and folded the eggs over.

herb_omelet

I was pleasantly surprised. The goat cheese added a weird texture that I’m not sure I liked, but the taste overall was good. I love garlic in practically anything, but I liked it in combination with the other tastes in the eggs. The shallots didn’t overwhelm any of it, despite the strong scent coming from the Tupperware they’re living in until I figure out what else to use them for. So a win for breakfast. Clearly, I have a lot of culinary motivation building up in the back of my brain. This heat is making it hard to want to do anything, let alone cook, so I figure I should go with it when it comes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

