Posted by: Erin | September 1, 2009

Garden Wanderings

gazebo_garden_02

A week or so ago, I noticed these crazy big dahlias growing in a community garden that I pass most days. I finally remembered to bring my camera with me, and on Thursday, I stopped by to take some pictures. While I was standing outside the locked gate, a guy stopped by and asked if I wanted to go inside. He had a plot there, but forgot his key, so he said if I was still around in 10 minutes, he’d be happy to let me in. I’ve admired this garden often, so of course, I jumped at the chance to go inside.

gazebo_garden_06

While I was waiting for him to come back, two more people came by to go in and water their plants. They, too, offered to let me in to take pictures. I wandered around the roughly defined paths and took tons of pictures of lots of stuff, including those huge dahlias. I talked to a fourth person on my way out – it turned out that her plot was one I’d been admiring when I first walked in. (Not with the dahlias, but the first plot that I actually walked past.)

gazebo_garden_19

So thank you to the very nice gardeners from the Gazebo Garden in the South End who let me in to photograph their lovely garden. The full set is on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

Categories

