Posted by: Erin | September 21, 2009

Snack Experiment

I’ve been trying to come up with some new healthy snacks, and this weekend, I experimented with granola. I always go back and forth on granola. I can never decide if I really like it or not. I also tried my supermarket’s version of Raisin Bran Crunch (which has granola in it), and I rather like it, though the cereal itself tastes like a sweetened cereal, which is odd. But anyway, that sparked my decision to try something with granola.

Years ago, we used to buy the custard-style Yoplait yogurt and freeze it for snacks. I’ve been doing that again – I seem to be partial to the blackberry flavor. On a whim, I bought Erin Baker’s peanut butter granola while at the grocery store and decided to pair it with the yogurt. I used 1/4 cup of granola, as well as some semi-sweet chocolate chips, and spooned the frozen yogurt over it. It was a good idea in theory, but disappointing in the end. I keep forgetting that semi-sweet chips don’t do well when paired with cold things, because the chocolate doesn’t melt at all, and it doesn’t really taste chocolatey. Which annoys me. The granola was also somewhat disappointing. It didn’t really have a peanut buttery taste to it – more peanuty, which are not the same thing. I also bought some Cascadian Farms dark chocolate almond granola on the same shopping trip, so I may try that next time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

