Posted by: Erin | November 26, 2009

Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving, kids! In honor of our illustrious holiday of turkey, I present photos of last year’s Thanksgiving feast, which I never got around to blogging. I used to get my Thanksgiving dinner from Whole Foods, but as of a year or two ago, they stopped letting you pick your side dishes, and I am not really a fan of stuffing, and I could live forever and be all too happy to never see another green bean. (I do not understand the obsession with green bean casserole either, by the way – is that a New England thing? I’ve spent the better part of 10 years in Massachusetts, but I’d never heard of this odd dish until I got to Boston.)

Anyway, last year, I decided just to order my turkey from Whole Foods, because that is the one part of the Thanksgiving feast that I do not have any particular desire to do myself. I am secure in my culinary adventurousness to be okay with letting someone else take care of the dirty work of dealing with the turkey. So I got my turkey, and made everything else. I don’t remember much except that I did not time things well, and I was cooking essentially all day, and I didn’t eat until some ridiculous hour of the evening. (This was compounded by the fact that I was trying to document my first attempt at really cooking Thanksgiving dinner by taking lots of photos while cooking.)

I now leave you with pictures while I go off to start my somewhat better planned meal for this year.

Basic Cranberry Sauce

Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins

Completed dinner (with edamame and mashed potatoes)

Amaretto Apple Crisp with Pistachio Gelato

Leave a Reply

Categories

