Posted by: Erin | June 20, 2010

Grilled Lamb and Berry Salad with Goat Cheese

I do so hate being disappointed by a meal that looks like such a good idea.

I intended to make lamb burgers, similar to the recipe I saw on the Primal Grill, and I was going to make a salad to go with it, using some mixed greens I got at the Copley farmers’ market on Friday. Instead, I mixed about a teaspoon each of minced garlic, oregano, sea salt, pepper, and thyme into the ground lamb and made three burgers, which I grilled on my little Foreman Grill. I cut one up, and added it to the salad greens once it had cooled off, and threw in raspberries and strawberries. I topped it off with some goat cheese, and *poof* – dinner.

I thought about adding some dried cranberries and pecans, but I thought the lamb made the pecans somehow unnecessary. I also had some blackberries I’d intended to use, but they seem to have gotten moldy, much to my great dismay.

The salad wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t nearly as exciting as I’d hoped. I’m not sure what was missing. Maybe I should have added some raspberry vinaigrette instead of (or in addition to) the goat cheese. I’ve got two more lamb burgers left, so perhaps I’ll try another combination this week.

Leave a Reply

Categories

