Posted by: Erin | February 19, 2011

Orchid Surprise!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted (shocking, I know), but I do have some stuff to share with you all, as soon as I get the chance to type up some posts. But I wanted to share this now, because I’m excited. 🙂

On a whim, I participated in #GardenChat on Twitter the other night, because I saw that they would be talking about orchids. I love dendrobium orchids, and I’ve had three, I think. None of them have ever re-flowered or lasted more than a few months. I don’t know what I’ve been doing wrong, so I thought I’d learn something from the Twitterverse.

#GardenChat was fun, though crazy busy – really hard to keep up! (I might have done better using a Twitter client instead of just the web-based timeline, but that’s another thing entirely.) After the chat, @BG_garden, who runs the chat, informed me that Costa Farms (who I believe is a regular #GardenChat participant) had selected me and a few others to win a prize. I had no idea they were giving things away, so I was pleasantly surprised. Little did I know what would happen.

I got home from work yesterday, and this was waiting for me:


It’s HUGE! The thing came up to my waist. Color me surprised. When I found out I won something, I thought maybe a small orchid, as that was the topic of discussion. Either they used a box that was far too big, or they’d sent me the Biggest. Orchid. EVER.

When I opened the box, I found these:


Yes, FOUR orchids. Four big orchids, I might mention. (Phalaenopsises. Phalaenopsi? Phalaenopsis orchids.) They’re 8-inch pots, I think. Once I freed them, you can see them much better:


The one on the far left has a white flower with blotches of magenta all over it. The only reason I know this is because a flower that broke off was lying in the pot. (There’s a picture, and some other close-ups on my Flickr page.) They’re all gorgeous! The yellow-and-purple one might be my favorite, because it reminds me of the last (failed) dendrobium I had. The purple one is a great vibrant color, and the one on the far right is white with tips of a lavender that creates a watercolor-like effect on the petals.

I still can’t believe they sent me FOUR orchids! I’m so excited. Aside from having new plant babies (which always makes me happy), it’s the dead of winter in Boston right now, and except for my Christmas cacti, my houseplants do not flower. So it’s nice to see some pretty blooms in the house. Fingers crossed I can keep them alive to see them bloom at least one more time (if not longer)! Any and all orchid care tips would be greatly appreciated!

Responses

  1. Wow! You are very lucky :o) They have really beautiful colours.

  2. I am! And so far, they’re still happy. Fingers crossed!


Leave a Reply

Categories

